History, Philosophy, and Mission
We are dedicated to "sharing and celebrating the arts and cultures of the Southwest."
The prestigious Millicent Rogers Museum is built upon the distinctive and iconic vision of Millicent Rogers. After her death the family, led by her son Paul Peralta-Ramos, established a museum to showcase her stellar collection of Native American jewelry and textiles and superb examples of Hispanic religious and secular artists.
After opening its doors in 1956 the Museum moved to its present location in 1968. Friends of Millicent Rogers, Claude and Elizabeth Anderson, donated their traditional hacienda, thereby creating a unique setting for an exquisite collection. In 1984 the structure was renovated and expanded by the renowned architect Nathaniel Owings of Skidmore, Owings & Merrill, and the Museum received accreditation from the American Association of Museums.
Northern New Mexico is home to diverse cultures and a celebrated history. Native Americans of the pueblos are indigenous to Taos and Hispanic immigrants colonized the area after 1598. The history and landscape of the region attracted Millicent Rogers to Taos. Most importantly, she responded to the creative beauty of these cultures and she discovered talent, design, and humanity through their arts. The Museum builds upon this foundation and actively collects, displays, and interprets the arts representing all cultures in northern New Mexico.
We welcome visitors to experience the unique spirit of northern New Mexico and of Millicent Rogers herself.